Media statement on the United States government decision to withdraw from the Paris Climate Agreement

Friday, 2 June 2017

2 June 2017: Global CCS Institute’s General Manager, Americas Region Jeff Erikson released the following statement regarding today’s White House announcement on the Paris Agreement: 

 “As an accredited observer under the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change, the Global CCS Institute recognizes the critical role the Paris Agreement will play in the world’s cooperative effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions while delivering energy security.  Consequently, we are disappointed in the decision by the Trump Administration to drop U.S. participation in the Agreement.  We believe that climate change is and will continue to be both a significant threat to economic prosperity, and a great business opportunity for those companies who are investing in a low-carbon future.  We will continue to work with industry, governments, NGOs and research organizations to accelerate the deployment of carbon capture technology, and reduce the risks associated with climate change.” 



For media enquiries, contact:

Antonios Papaspiropoulos: +61 401 944 478,

Jeff Erikson: +1 202 895 2785,


About the Global CCS Institute: The Global CCS Institute is an international membership organisation. Our mission is to accelerate the deployment of carbon capture and storage (CCS), a vital technology to tackle climate change and provide energy security.

Working with and on behalf of our Members, we drive the adoption of CCS as quickly and cost effectively as possible by sharing expertise, building capacity and providing advice and support so that this this vital technology can play its part in reducing greenhouse gas emissions.

Our diverse international membership consists of governments, global corporations, small companies, research bodies and nongovernment organisations, committed to CCS as an integral part of a low-carbon future. We are headquartered in Melbourne, Australia with regional offices in Washington DC, Brussels, Beijing and Tokyo. For more information, visit