Dr Victor Der awarded lifetime achievement award by the Washington Coal Club

The Institute’s Dr Victor Der, Chief Representative – North America, was awarded the Senator Jennings Randolph Lifetime Achievement Award at a gala hosted by the Washington Coal Club on 28 November 2012. The award honours Vic’s distinguished work at the US Department of Energy and the Institute. 

The Senator Jennings Randolph Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 1987 to recognise lifetime achievement and dedication to the utilisation of coal as a reliable, secure national energy source sustaining national employment in the mining and power industries.  Former recipients of this award include US Senator Robert Byrd and other members of US Congress.

Established in 1982, the Washington Coal Club is a District of Columbia non-profit organisation that meets monthly to discuss industry-related matters of interest to its more than 300 members. Its membership consists of senior executives from the US energy industry and academia, including electric utilities, coal producers and transporters, project developers, universities, federal and state legislators, and the US Department of Energy.