CCS Talks: Europe’s next CCS facilities

Events

Events

CCS Talks: Europe’s next CCS facilities

18th June 2020

Location(s): Webinar

June 18, 2020 - 9:00 (Washington) / 14:00 (London) / 15:00 (Brussels) / 22:00 (Tokyo) / 23:00 (Melbourne)


Overview

The European Green Deal recognises the important role of carbon capture, utilisation and storage as a key technology for industrial decarbonisation. There are currently two operating large-scale CCS facilities in Europe, both in Norway.  In this webinar we will examine the development of what may become Europe’s next CCS facilities; the Full-Scale Project in Norway and the Porthos project in the Netherlands. Final investment decision is anticipated for each of these critical projects in the next 12 months. Recent developments and key steps leading to Final Investment Decision will be outlined. In addition, we will discuss how it is hoped these facilities might develop and contribute to decarbonisation more widely.

Register here

*If you are unable to attend the live Webinar, please register to receive an email with the the recording after the event.


Speakers

Trude Sundset, CEO, Gassnova - The Full Scale Project in Norway

Trude Sundset is a leading global authority on carbon capture and storage (CCS). She is CEO at Gassnova, the Norwegian state enterprise for CCS technology development. Sundset has broad experience in international organizations as a board member of IEA GHG, CSLF, IPIECA, ZEP and The Hawthorn Club. She has held senior leadership positions in areas of energy, environment and climate issues across the oil and gas industry.  She started her career as a researcher at SINTEF, before moving on to Statoil ASA (now called Equinor). During 19 years at Statoil Sundset held top positions as Chief Researcher, Head of International Environment and Climate and Vice President Environment and Climate.  Sundset holds a Master of Technology from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim. Her broad-based industrial experience and extensive career has given her a unique insight into industrial development and technological solutions to mitigate climate change.

Mark Driessen, Manager, Public Affairs - Port of Rotterdam, Porthos Project

Mark Driessen is responsible for all Stakeholder Management and Communications within the Rotterdam CCUS project Porthos. Since 2017 he works for the Port of Rotterdam which is developing this project together with Gasunie and EBN and the industries in the port area. He is active in all public affairs, including government relations, both at EU and national level. Previously Mark has worked for the Dutch government, the last 11 years at the Energy division of the Ministry of Economic Affairs. There he was engaged as a project manager in all sorts of energy-issues, mainly gas and infrastructure related.

Moderator

Jamie Burrows - Client Engagement Manager

Jamie Burrows is the Institute’s Client Engagement Manager based at our Central London office. Jamie works in close partnership with Institute Members and wider industry across Europe to help accelerate the deployment and commercial viability of CCS. He is involved in the delivery of a number of high value strategic initiatives; working closely with stakeholders and the Institute’s Global Experts on CCS policy, economics and engineering.

Jamie is a Chartered Engineer and Manager with 20 years’ experience. He has broad technical and commercial experience gained from roles in the Consultancy, Combustion and Upstream Oil and Gas sectors.

Previous Events

CCS Talks: Europe’s next CCS facilities

Newsletter

Get the latest CCS updates