Events

Events

Achieving a Net Zero Emissions Economy: Returning Carbon to the Earth

22nd September 2020

Type(s): webinar

22 September 2020 - 09:00 (NYC) / 14:00 (London) / 15:00 (Brussels) / 23:00 (Melbourne)

2020 New York Climate Week


The IPCC Special Report on 1.5 states clearly that carbon capture utilisation and storage (CCUS) is vital to reducing emissions to net-zero by mid-century. To achieve net-zero emissions, we must go further and decisively embrace carbon dioxide removal (CDR) techniques as well.

Net-zero emission pledges have gained significant traction in policy circles and civil society, signaling a higher level of climate ambition and clarity of scientific targets.  In just the first quarter of 2020, numerous governments and corporations have made major commitments to achieve net-zero emissions by 2050.

The arithmetic requirements and technical options of a net-zero world are most clear when considering the mid-century goal. The next decade will be central to any successful climate strategy with a net-zero ambition, with commensurate requirements for scaling, investment, infrastructure, and innovation.

With this clear premise and critical timeframe in mind, Columbia University’s Center on Global Energy Policy (CGEP) and the Global Carbon Capture and Storage Institute partnered on a net-zero emissions economy project, resulting in a seminal new report. The report, “Net-Zero and Geospheric Return: Thinking about 2030”, frames carbon management, including CCUS and CO2 removal, in the context of net-zero emissions and returning carbon back to where it came from, the geosphere. The two organisations are pleased to launch the report and discuss its key findings and recommendations with a virtual event during the 2020 New York Climate Week.

During this virtual event the authors of the report will be joined by leading climate scientists and policy makers. The high-level event seeks to explore the critical role of CCUS and CDR in a net-zero emissions framework and the value of a balanced carbon management approach to 2030; an important milestone through which any entity with a net-zero pledge must measure their progress towards the ultimate 2050 goal.

 

Register here

*If you are unable to attend the live Webinar, please register to receive an email with the recording after the event.


 

Previous Events

Achieving a Net Zero Emissions Economy:  Returning Carbon to the Earth

Newsletter

Get the latest CCS updates